How do you experience being loved? If we’re created in the image of God, and God is love, then to love and to be loved is the reason we exist.

How do you show others that you love them? How do you feel loved by others? 

Gary Chapman’s brilliant book, The Five Love Languages, is a must read. He notes that, broadly speaking, we often give love the way we’d like to receive it. It’s good for us to know our own love language, and it’s also good for us to know other significant people in our lives love language too. Why? So that we can tell them how we feel loved, and we can love them in a way that is meaningful for them.

The five love languages are:

  • Physical Touch 
  • Affirming/encouraging Words
  • Gifts
  • Quality Time, and
  • Acts of Service

Do you know how you most feel loved – what your love language is? 

Do you know the love languages of the significant others in your life? Kids, spouse, close friends, small group? Your minister’s (just joking :-)? If so, how are you going in your daily and weekly patterns and practices in expressing your love to them: Is there anything you need to tweek? If not, I encourage you to read the book. And if, after reading the book you’re still not sure, you can also go online and do a short survey ( that may help you discover your love language. 

You could also ask those significant others in your life to do it too. I remember when we first did this with the congregation in Canning Vale, we had our kids do it as well. Our oldest daughter came out with her love language as physical touch. We couldn’t believe it because she hates cuddles, and can’t stand it when we touch her hair and the like. When we asked her about it she said that she really loved tickles and wrestling, and, as we thought about it we realised it was true. So now every night before bed she gets lots of tickles, because we love her and that is how she experiences being loved.

God’s richest grace in the adventure,